What Invited Company Clients Can See & Do

This article explains the ways in which the directors, employees, and other parties associated with your firm's client companies can be invited to access their companies Workspace and work collaboratively with your firm in Connectworks. 

For information on the user roles and access rights that staff at your professional firm can have read our article here.

 

Contents

1. Accessing a company as a director or employee of the Company

2. What Company Directors can see and do

3. What Company Administrators can see and do

4. What Company Advisors can see and do

5. Setting access rights when creating a Director, Administrator, or Advisor

6. Editing access rights for a Director, Administrator, or Advisor

 

Accessing a company as a director or employee of the Company

Under Connectworks’ Unlinked subscription plan, the full Company Workspace can only be accessed by members of the subscribing firm.  

The subscribing firm may still choose to invite any director or associated party of an Unlinked company to register for a Connectworks account and access a view-only summary of the company's profile. These individuals cannot perform any actions within the profile without the subscribing firm upgrading the company to a higher access level subscription.

Where a client company is subscribed under an Unlimited subscription plan, the subscribing firm can extend access to as many of the companies associated parties as desired. These people fall into three categories:

  • Company Directors
  • Company Administrators
  • Company Advisors

 

What Company Directors can see and do

By default the after you have invited a Company Director into Connectworks on an Unlimited subscription they can see and do everything your firms own client managers can see and do, apart from:

  • Directors can create discussions in the Minute book, but cannot create minutes or resolutions
  • Directors cannot add, remove, or edit the profiles for other parties associated to the Company
  • Directors cannot edit the Company’s profile

However, these permissions can be modified by assigning 'custom access' if required.

 

What Company Administrators can see and do

Employees of your client companies can be granted Administrator access to the company. On an Unlimited subscription this gives the user full access to the company, allowing them to see and do everything your firms client managers can.

 

What Company Advisors can see and do

You can record individuals associated with a Company in a range of advisory roles, including:

  • Legal advisor or lawyer
  • Accounting advisor or accountant
  • Financial advisor
  • Advisor to the board
  • Other advisor
  • Treasurer
  • Secretary

After being invited into a company workspace by the subscribing firm, by default:

Legal, Accounting, and ‘Other’ Advisors can see and do everything your manager for the company can see and do, apart from:

  • Create minutes or resolutions in the Minute Book
  • Add, remove, or edit the profiles for parties associated to the Company
  • Edit the Company’s profile

Advisor to the board, Treasurer, and Secretary, are not granted any access and must be invited into the companies workspace and assigned custom access by a member of the subscribing professional firm.

 

Setting access rights when creating a Director, Administrator, or Advisor

You can set the access rights for a Director, Administrator or Advisor when you create their profile, or by editing their access rights from within the Company Workspace Admin tab.

 

Editing access rights for a Director, Administrator, or Advisor

You can edit the access rights for persons associated with a company from within the Company Workspace.

In particular, you can grant them the ability to:

  • create minutes and documents
  • manage relationships
  • edit the company profile.

In the People & Employees section of the Admin tab, just select the party whose access rights you want to edit, click on the Cogs, and click Change Access. 

custom_access_rights_.png

Note that greyed-out access rights cannot be removed. These are the rights automatically granted due to their assigned role in the company, such as being a Director.